John Ford Memorial Award







John Ford was a student at Oakridge Secondary School, in London Ontario, where he actively participated in many aspects of school life. John passed away suddenly due to a heart condition in 2005, at the age of 17, in his graduating year.

With the Thames Valley District School Board, Skrypnyk Group established the John Ford Memorial Award in John’s memory. Since 2005, Skrypnyk Group has donated $52,000 towards the scholarship. This scholarship is presented annually to a graduating student, chosen by his or her peers, who will attend college or university the following September and who consistently demonstrates the characteristics of a good citizen. The chosen student is a good friend, accepting of everyone, loves to laugh and loves to make others laugh.

John was involved in his local church and enjoyed sports, especially hockey. John is remembered by his peers as a caring, supportive and always a fun-loving friend. John hoped one day to continue to post secondary education.

The past winners are proudly listed below:

2018 Emily Pratt
Thidas Senanayaka
2017 Fraser Cunningham  University of Ottawa
2016  Elora Ramani Watson King’s University College, UWO, London
2015  Adam Ahmed Hashi Western University, London
2014  Kathryn Hunter Brock University, St. Catherines
2013  Jack Gunn University of Waterloo, Waterloo
2012  Haley Gallant Western University, London
2011  Nicholas Vincent Ryerson University, Toronto
2010  Ubong Umoh Western University, London
2009  Emily Dyck King’s University College, UWO, London
2008  Chevy Priyadamkol Western University, London
2007  Aiden Hamza Western University, London
 Jamie Summers Queen’s University, Kingston
2006  Maria Sellery Lakehead University, Thunder Bay
2005  Ameena Saeed Western University, London
 Jason Furlong Western University, London